The home of Critic, Writer and Film-maker: Liam Walters

We Need Pottermore Information on Pottermore


Like to start with, what the hell actually is it? Maybe I should explain for those of you not in the know. Basically, about a week or so ago, a website came into knowledge called Pottermore, and it contain owls and a link to a J.K.Rowling Announces Youtube Page, which had a big, countdown clock, counting down towards the 23rd of June, at 12:00pm, where it stated there would be a new announcement about Pottermore.

Well… No Clues About What The Hell It Is Here Then

So the fateful day came when the announcement was released and… I still have no idea what ‘Pottermore’ actually is. J.K. described it as a ‘unique’ and ‘an online reading experience unlike any other’.  Now you’ll forgive me for being a little pessimistic, but the last time I had a unique online reading experience unlike any other, that was related with Harry Potter, it was ‘My Immortal’, and lord knows I don’t want to go back to that again.

So what else does J.K. tell us? Well, she says that ‘the digital generation will be able to enjoy a safe, online reading experience built around the Harry Potter books’… That’s actually really good, because I’m tired of all these extremely dangerous online reading experiences. I mean, the amount of time’s I’ve tried to enjoy the Harry Potter books online, and then I’m suddenly getting hunted down and shot at… Unless if it mean’s it literally, and we will be safe from the likes of Tara Gilesbie, and her awful use of the english language (if you can even call it that).

‘Fans of any age’, now that has always confused me. Is she trying to say that up until now, older fans of the Harry Potter Franchise have not been able to go on any of the harry Potter sites? I didn’t think that the Harry Potter fanbase were so ageist, I mean, lighten up guys, you not exactly Gallifrey Base… Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of nice friendly people… But I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t seen the phrase ‘hush, the grown ups are talking’.

Potttermore will also be the exclusive place to purchase digital audio books, or if you are a complete spoon, E-book’s of the series. J.K. also states that she will be sharing information about the Harry Potter universe that she has been ‘hoarding for years’… WHY! It’s been 13 years since the first book was released. Why the hell are you keeping information from us? It’s not like it’s going to be anything that impacts the story. It’ll be important as the fact that Dumbledore was gay, even though it never once came up in the story at all, and was only released after the final books were released and the fanbase was confirmed.

I mean, what new information are we going to find out? Hagrid has a pacemaker? Professor McGonagall use to travel the world, tasting fine cheese? Dobby has a twin brother called Bobby? It’s just cheap tricks to try to get people to to get all interested in the website, when really it’s seems like any other Harry Potter Fansite.

In the end, it seems like a pretty big let down. I mean, maybe another book wouldn’t have worked too well, but we could have had something better than what seems like a normal, typical fansite. It’s nothing new or inventive, and quite frankly with the information given, it’s not even too terribly exciting…

I’m not really sure how to end this bit so… Follow the owls? (or don’t, I wont be).

One response

  1. Pingback: The Worldwide End Of Our Beloved Saga Starts « adriel dela rosa

Leave a Reply

