The home of Critic, Writer and Film-maker: Liam Walters

Ramble: Individuals are Stupid [Warning: Strong Language]


Written By: Liam Walters

So it’s been a while since I’ve written something non-media related, but this has been bugging me for a long time now. At the moment, we’re in a culture, especially with teenagers, where they feel the need to describe themselves as “Individuals”…

This… Is so… Fucking… Stupid!

I know it’s something odd to get so angry about, but hey, it’s not odd because I’m an individual so respect me!

Maybe it’s because I’ve learnt to group people together as ‘Target Audiences’ or whether it just seems so stupid and whiney it insults my intelligence as a human being, but what ever it is, I don’t really care.

I think the main thing is, that calling yourself an Individual is both stupidly obvious yet obviously false. Yes, you’re a human being, and as such you have your own thought process, you follow your own set of morals and have your own taste in food, music, or anything else you like. No one else on earth is an exact carbon copy. Even a clone wouldn’t be an exact copy as the way someone is brought up has an effect on who they are. So yes, it that way, you are correct. You are an individual and there is no one exactly like you in the entire world… As is the rest of the human race, so it’s a bit stupid to fucking go around stating it.

I mean, it would be like going around saying ‘I am a human’ because that’s a mind numbingly obviously truthful statement as ‘I am an individual’ is.

And then of course, you have the other side, the side that people normally refer to when talking about tastes. For this example, I’ll be using subcultures, as they tend to get the most common response of ‘I’m an Individual’.

You see, even though its true, as a human you have your own tastes in music and clothing ect, it’s also true that every other human does, and even though it wont be the exact same as yours, you will always share some likes and dislikes with thousands, even millions of other people.

In this sense, you are not an individual in the taste of music, because you share the vast majority of your taste, if not all of your taste, with another few hundred thousand people. You share similar tastes in clothing, once again, with hundreds and thousands of people.

That is why subcultures were created, to be able to group these people together in a recognisable term.

I mean, these people probably found half their music by going into shops and finding the genre of music they liked, or searching it up on the internet. So by doing that they’re associating genres and categories with yourself, even though you’re an individual. I mean, I wouldn’t mind as much, but if you walked up to them and asked them for their 5 favourite bands, they’d probably list of some clichéd list of bands you typically expect them to like, because you met 1000 other fuckwit individuals who also like those 5 bands.

I mean, fair enough if they’re top 5 bands are Municipal Waste, Spandau Ballet , U2, The Jonas Brothers and The Dresden Dolls. But the chances of meeting anyone like that is so astronomically small that it actually took me 10 minutes to even think up a made up list of bands so different from each other.

I mean, it’s so fucking stupid. Taking a specific example. On Ross Noble’s Stand Up Dvd ‘Fizzy Logic’ in one of the extra shows he talks to a girl in the audience who is wearing a sex pistols t-shirt and has some piercings, and asks if she’s a punk or a goth. She replies that she is an individual… I mean… You dress as like everyone else and listen to the same music… YOUR NOT A FUCKING INDIVIDUAL.

And as I said, yes, as a human being you are completely individual… BUT YOU DON’T NEED TO LABEL YOURSELF AS SUCH.

You know what that is equivalent to… It’s like me saying ‘No no no no no. I’m not English, I’m an Earthling. No! In fact! I’m a Universian (that is, someone who is from the universe, not someone at university.)

So please… If you’re sitting there, reading this article… and you call yourself an Individual for whatever reason… Just… Go Away.

Whether you enjoyed this article or you hated it. Whether you agree or disagree. Post in the comments with your opinion… It’ll probably be the most individual thing that’s happened on this site yet.

4 responses

  1. Dad

    could you have used a different word other than f@*%king to describe your anger?
    e.g. i get ‘sausages’ mad at people you can not describe a feeling with out swearing

    December 12, 2010 at 16:44

    • Well I’m sorry for not using a large range of swear words. I’ll be sure to use thesaurus.com next time.

      December 12, 2010 at 16:54

  2. Pingback: Fiction: Rain Prompt « [ Cybaria ]

  3. Nichola

    Hey Liam.
    I am an individual.

    I do kid. I feel your anger, MORE RANTS PLZ.

    December 12, 2010 at 22:38

Leave a Reply

