The home of Critic, Writer and Film-maker: Liam Walters

Blog: Christmas, Shinkai Month and ’42’


So I think it may have been a while since I last posted up a blog. I’ve got a lot to talk about in this one, of which includes the fact that chistmas is now less than a month away, The upcoming Shinkai Month for December, and a new radio show I’ll be presenting on RamAir called ’42’.

I’ve always loved christmas. I mean, I know a lot of people do, so it’s probably not that big of a shock. But this is my first pre-christmas away from my family. I’m living in Bradford now, and it is a bit odd not seeing a snow covered Sheffield. Still Bradford looks quite nice covered in snow, so it’s all good.

And by god, the snow. Its come earlier and heavier this year. Like, sometimes we would get snow before christmas but never this heavy. I just love it.

So as you’ve probably seen. December will be Makoto Shinkai Month, as seen in this poster (to the right). Now, those of you who know me well, will know that I absolutely love the works of Makoto Shinkai. The art in his animes are beautiful, and the writing is powerful and emotional.

It’s no lie that Connection Unavailable was inspired by the first few minutes of Voices of a Distant Star, but I’ll get around to that later on when I do my reviews and articles for the special.

So you may be a bit confused about the whole ’42’ thing if you don’t follow me on Twitter. Lately I have been wanting to do a little more, and so I’ve decided to take up a student radio show, and decided to name it ’42’ (which, if you didn’t realise, is the Answer to Life, The Universe, and Everything). It will look into Geek Culture, and include segments where I talk about film, tv and the net.

Be sure to check it out. Saturday 12pm-2pm (GMT)

RamAir 1350AM (Bradford)

http://ramair.co.uk

Itunes – Radio – College/University – RamAir

Oh… I guess I didn’t have much to say then…

Until the next time… Toodles.

Leave a Reply

