The home of Critic, Writer and Film-maker: Liam Walters

Misc: 27 Quotes From 26 Episodes of Doctor Who [2005+]


How many of them do you know?
[ Extra points will be given if you can tell me which episode I used 2 quotes from ]

  1. “Well, perfect to look at, maybe. And it was, it was beautiful. They used to call it the Shining World of the Seven Systems. And on the continent of Wild Endeavour, in the mountains of Solace and Solitude, there stood the Citadel of the Time Lords. The oldest and most mighty race in the universe. Looking down on the galaxies below, sworn never to interfere, only to watch.

  2. “Ladies and gentleman, I know that man! That Doctor on high! And I know that he has done this deed a thousand times. But not once, no, sir, not once not ever has he ever been thanked. But no more, for I say to you on this Christmas Morn, bravo, sir!
  3. “Well, if that’s what you want. It’s a bit soon. I had so many places I wanted to take you. The fifteenth broken moon of the Medusa Cascade, the lightning skies of Cotter Palluni’s World, the diamond coral reefs of Kataa Flo Ko. Thank you. Thank you, Donna Noble, it’s been brilliant. You’ve saved my life in so many ways. You’re… you’re just popping home for a visit, that’s what you mean?
  4. “Deluded. Bless. I’ll have to trade her in. Do you need anyone? She’s very good at tea. Well, when I say “very good” I mean not bad. Well, I say “not bad” – anyway, lead on. Allons-y – but not too fast. Her ankle’s going.
  5. “Me? I’m their man in Havana. I’m their technical support. I’m… Oh my god. I’m the tin dog!
  6. “It is returning, it is returning through the dark. And then, Doctor… Oh but then… He will knock four times.
  7. “‘That thing’, as you put it, is in charge of the human race. For almost a hundred years, mankind has been shaped and guided, his knowledge and ambitions strictly controlled by its broadcast news, edited by my superior, your master and humanity’s guiding light, The Mighty Jagrafess of the Holy Hadrojassic Maxarodenfoe… I call him Max.
  8. “You fought her off with a water pistol. I bloody love you!
  9. “Ahh, taking a big space truck with a bunch of strangers across a diamond planet called Midnight? What could possibly go wrong?
  10. “Well, exactly, look at you, not remotely important. But me… I could do so much more… So much more! But this is what I get. My reward.. But it’s not fair!..”
  11. “Have you seen? There are these… things. These… great, big space rhino things! I mean rhinos from space! And we’re on the moon! Great big space rhinos, with guns, on the moon! And I only came in for my bunions! Look, they’re all fixed now, perfectly good treatment, the nurses were lovely, I said to my wife, I said, I recommend this place to anyone. But then we end up on the moon! And… Did I mention the rhinos?
  12. “People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but *actually* from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint – it’s more like a big ball of wibbly wobbly… time-y wimey… stuff.
  13. “Annihilate? No! No violence, do you understand me? Not while I’m around, not today, not ever. I’m the Doctor. The Oncoming Storm. And you basically meant beat them in a football match, didn’t you?
  14. “Well, yeah, you could. Yeah, you could do that, of course you could. But why? Look at these people: these human beings. Consider their potential. From the day they arrive on the planet, and blinking step into the sun. There is more to see than can ever be seen. More to do than – no, hold on… Sorry, that’s the ‘Lion King’. But the point still stands.
  15. “I remember watching Michelangelo painting the Sistine Chapel. Wow, what a whiner! I kept saying to him “Look, if you’re scared of heights, you shouldn’t have taken the job then”. And Picasso, what a ghastly old goat! I kept telling him, “Concentrate, Pablo. It’s one eye, either side of the face”.
  16. “I’m waving at fat.
  17. “Oi! I didn’t say you could go! Article 57 of the Shadow Proclamation. This is a fully established, Level 5, planet, and you were going to burn it? What…? Did you think no one was watching? You lot, back here, now!
  18. “There was a war. A Time War. The last great Time War. My people fought a race called the Daleks for the sake of all creation, and they lost. They lost. Everyone lost. They’re all gone now, my family, my friends, even that sky. Ah, you should have seen it, that old planet. The second sun would rise in the south, the mountains would shine. The leaves on the trees were silver. When they caught the light every morning, they lit the forest on fire.
  19. “Ah, a poncho. The biggest crime against fashion since lederhosen.
  20. “Agatha Christie! I was just talking about you the other day! I said ‘I bet she’s brilliant!’ I’m the Doctor, this is Donna. Oh, I love your stuff! What a mind! You fool me every time! Well… almost every time. Well… once or twice… Well… once. But it was a good once!
  21. “It’s you! You’re my favourite! You are the best, you know why? Cause you’re so thick! You’re mister thick thickity thick face from thicktown thickannia. And so is your Dad!
  22. “It’s funny, I thought, if you could hear me, I could hang on, somehow. Silly me. Silly old Doctor. When you wake up, you’ll have a mum and dad, and you won’t even remember me. Well, you’ll remember me a little. I’ll be a story in your head. But that’s OK: we’re all stories, in the end. Just make it a good one, eh? Because it was, you know, it was the best: a daft old man, who stole a magic box and ran away. Did I ever tell you I stole it? Well, I borrowed it; I was always going to take it back. Oh, that box, Amy, you’ll dream about that box. It’ll never leave you. Big and little at the same time, brand-new and ancient, and the bluest blue, ever. And the times we had, eh? Would’ve had. Never had. In your dreams, they’ll still be there. The Doctor and Amy Pond… and the days that never came.
  23. “Yes, because there are laws. There are laws of time. Once upon a time there were people in charge of those laws but they died. They all died. Do you know who that leaves? Me! It’s taken me all these years to realize that the laws of time are MINE and they will obey me!
  24. “You are my enemy! And I am yours! You are everything I despise! The worst thing in all creation. I’ve defeated you. Time and time again, I’ve defeated you. I sent you back into the Void! I saved the whole of Reality from you! I am the Doctor! And you are the Daleks!
  25. “Exterminieren! Exterminieren! Halt! Sonst werden wir Sie exterminieren! Sie sind jetzt ein Gefangener der Daleks! Exterminieren! Exterminieren!
  26. “I’m the Doctor. I’m a Time Lord. I’m from the planet Gallifrey in the Constellation of Kasterborous. I’m 903 years old and I’m the man who is gonna save your lives and all 6 billion people on the planet below. You got a problem with that?
  27. “I don’t want to go
Leave a Reply

