The home of Critic, Writer and Film-maker: Liam Walters

Article: Uninsperation – An Article About Being Being Uninspired When Trying to Write an Article


[ Article By: Liam Walters ]

[Originally posted: 13/08/2010]

So this is a somewhat follow-up on my last Article about Procrastination. In that last article, I talked about how low and behold, I couldn’t finish a transformers article because I just kept putting it off to the point where I just didn’t want to do it any more. (Just in case you were wondering, I still haven’t written anything more on the review, and there’s a good chance that I wont write any more for it anyway).

So as I decided to focus more on articles, I started trying to come up with idea’s and content to write for the articles. Now here was the thing. I actually wanted to start writing something, but I could not think of ANYTHING to write at all. I mean, what the hell. When I have things to write about, I’m not in the mood to, but as soon as I want to write something, I can’t think of anything to write! Is god fucking around with me or something. I’m actually starting to think so, because when I finally decided to go write this article, I found myself not really being in the mood to write any more, and now its taken me nearly a whole week just to get me onto writing it.

Don’t get me wrong, I know not that many people really read these articles, but I would still like to try to get at least one out a week. And it’s not like the writing fairy has come over and said ‘Thou shalt not write no more!’ in a deep booming voice. No. Because I can still write as evidenced by my last blog and the ramble I posted yesterday.

I know I know, this is different because I have to try to focus on one topic, and also with the way I want my articles to be, I also need to do this funny, cynical satire type of writing. I mean, I don’t even know if half of this is actually funny. I’m not really trying to make it funny all that much, like, I do exaggerate and blow things out of proportion because its funny, but I fear I’m getting off topic a little here.

So back to my original point. Why does it seem like the whole worlds trying to stop me from writing these articles. I don’t know, maybe its just me. I am kind of a moron when it comes to stuff like this. I go through so many fads its uncountable. Just stuff like making vlogs, doing commentaries, doing reviews, doing animation and all this other stuff that I have been right into, until I actually start doing it. At that point, I realise how much effort it takes and just give in, because I can’t really motivate myself to do something if I feel like no ones going to really care about it.

That’s my problem, maybe I would have more people reading my stuff or watching my videos if I actually stuck at half the projects that I start, and see them through to the end. I just expect to get known so quickly, so I can use the fact that people are interested as motivation to keep moving me forward and doing new things.

But in the end, I do think I’m learning. I am actually writing this article now, and hopefully I’ll be able to do more soon and keep an average posting rate going. Who knows, maybe what I said would come true. If I stick to something, I may actually draw fans in.

Wow, my ego is that small that I need validation from others just to keep going. I’m such a loser.

Ah well, there so many famous losers on the internet, if I do get well-known then I’m only adding to the rest. And if I don’t, well, Internet obscurity is quite a comforting place.

I never really know how to end these things, so yeah… Comment, share and do all that twoddle.

One response

  1. Instead of focusing on Internet fame, focus on what you find interesting and relevant. Writing about an obsession is easier that writing about things you don’t really care about.
    Read the news, I use BBC. If there’s an article I really like on there, or a subject that interests me, I write about it. Not only do I find it relevant but lots of other people will like it too.

    Another tip is to network. No one will read your blog if thet don’t know it exists. Subscribe to some other blogs you find interesting, check out their list of blogs, and theirs etc. Join in conversations, post on other people’s blogs commenting, and include a link to your own blog.

    Finally, write because you want to, not because you want the fame. Art is still art even if it doesn’t have an audience.

    http://sammimonster.blogspot.com

    August 13, 2010 at 14:58

Leave a Reply

