The home of Critic, Writer and Film-maker: Liam Walters

Article: Procrastination – The Tale of How I Failed to Write a Transformers Review and Instead Ended Up Writing an Article on How I Did Not Write a Transformers Review.


[ Article By: Liam Walters ]

[Originally posted: July 29th 2010]

So we all know what procrastination is, I’m sure many of us have dealt with it before. But just for those who don’t actually now what it is, this is the Dictionary.com definition:

Photobucket

So I was suppose to be doing a Transformers (2007) review last Sunday. I did watch the film and start writing it, but I just couldn’t really focus on it. Now I know, its my own fault. If I really wanted to get it done I would shut off all distractions…

But of course, I don’t. Hell, I could blame the internet, but I think its my self control that’s more of the problem, not my internet connection. This is quite funny as well, because during the two reviews before, I kept getting pulled away from writing to do stuff like to tidy my room or help build a wardrobe. Maybe that’s my secret, I only work well when its other people distracting me from my work, instead of myself.

Its not like I’ve had the time. I as in most of the day yesterday. Sure I was a little busy on Monday and Tuesday, but I still could have added in the hours I had spared. But no, Id rather go on forums and chat with my friends, and talk about the review I’m suppose to be doing rather than actually doing it.

So here I am. Its Thursday I have haven’t added a single word to that review. I don’t even have an excuse for today, I just really didn’t want to do it. I just felt so daunting about having to write that, especially with the way I review things, I would have to work at it for a few hours. I’m going to try a different way in the future. I figure ‘Hey, I’m working all day Sunday on these reviews AND IM NOT DOING ANYTHING FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK!”

So I figured to make it a weekend thing. Just work a bit on both Saturday and Sunday, and hopefully I’ll be able to get through it without putting it off for 4 days.

The thing is, I’m okay with college work. Maybe its because its in my head that if I dont do it, I’ll just land my self in a load of shit. The last thing I wanted to do was to fall behind on my college work.

Maybe I should try to encourage my self in some way. Give myself a reward for finishing a review. People tend to work harder if they have something to get out of it, rather than if they’re doing it for poops and giggles.

I seriously don’t know if this transformers review will ever be finished. Maybe it will just disappear into internet obscurity. Like when you just joined a site and everyone talks about some myth or some video that never got released yet everyone heard of, and your like ‘What the hell is everyone talking about’.

I don’t think I’m ever going to get this finished. Hell, I’ll end up reviewing the sequel before I get around to finishing the first review. Ha, that’ll be fun. I can make references to jokes I hadn’t even written yet.

Anyway, I think that’s enough for now. If I try to make this any longer I fear I may try to find something else to do instead of writing this.
Now if you excuse me, I’ve got a review to not write.

Leave a Reply

